WAEE Board of Directors – Who Are They Anyway? {Molly McKay}

Hi! My name is Molly McKay, and I am one of the current WAEE board members.  I love being a part of WAEE and helping to make EE a success in Wisconsin.  Hopefully I will get a chance to meet many of the WAEE members at this year’s Fall Conference in beautiful Door County.  I have been a part of the fall conference planning committee and have been organizing some of the field trips that attendees will have the chance to attend.  Conferences and workshops are the things that got me involved in WAEE, and something that I find incredibly valuable, so I love to be a part of making them happen.

I am currently serving as the Director of Education for the Raptor Education Group, Inc. (REGI) in Antigo, WI.  REGI is a non-profit bird rehabilitation facility and I have the honor of bringing live REGI raptors into classrooms across the state.  It is an amazing thing to see the looks on children’s faces when you bring a big hawk out to meet them. The “oohs” and “ahhs” are a constant reminder that the experiences that I bring to children are the experiences that they will remember for a lifetime.  Hopefully when they see birds out in nature they will be inspired to learn more about them and make decisions to protect them.

I have always been a lover of nature, and was fortunate enough to grow up surrounded by it.  I spent my days climbing trees, mucking through the river, and just being outside.  I grew up on a small farm and was not what you would call a “city kid”.  I feel like the experiences I had in my youth drove me to care for the environment and are the reason I spend so much of my free time recreating in the outdoors.  But whether you are a city kid or a country kid, I believe you deserve to have the experiences that will connect you to the environment.  That is what drove me to EE and I like to think that whether I am bringing birds into a classroom, and out on the trails with my son, I am helping to create those experiences.

This entry was posted in General Information and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

